Sanity Secrets: Marcy Twete from the Career Girl Network

Marcy Twete is THE Career Girl. A Minnesota native, she founded the Career Girl Network in Minneapolis and expanded her mission to connect women in business to Chicago. She is also the author of You Know Everybody! A Career Girl’s Guide to Building a Network That Works, Vice Chair of the Chicago Board of Directors for Step Up Women’s Network in Chicago, and a loving mother and wife. With an impressive juggling act, we just had to ask, how does she do it?! So, we sat down with Marcy and she let us in on all of her Sanity Secrets!

Marcy career girlPrettyQuick: You’ve traveled an exciting path from Minneapolis to Chicago! Please tell us a little about how you came to be THE Career Girl and how you founded Career Girl Network.

Marcy Twete: I started my career working in Minneapolis-based nonprofit organizations, specifically those serving the needs of women and girls. What I found there was that all women, no matter their income level or job description, had the same issues in their careers. And while there are ample resources available online and off for women just out of college, there are not a lot of resources out there for women who are 30+, successful in their own right, and ready to excel in their career. After moving to Chicago in 2010 and spending about a year as a consultant, I started Career Girl Network to give women who are ambitious, career-driven, successful, and serious the opportunity to find resources, information, and networking opportunities that will hopefully work wonders in shattering the glass ceiling once and for all.

PrettyQuick: What one piece of advice would you give to business women everywhere?

Marcy: Your career is not your job! We all spend 50, 60, 70 hours a week working on our jobs. Take some time out of that, even if it’s 1-2 hours a week, and work on your career! Go to a networking event, meet a past colleague for lunch, reach out to a potential connection, update your resume. It’s just as important to work strategically on your career as it is to work hard at your job.

PrettyQuick: You are quite the busy business bee! Is hard finding time just for you? How do you make sure to get some pampering in your schedule?

Marcy: Finding “me time” is definitely difficult! I actually work my pampering into my working out schedule. I go to gyms and yoga studios that also have spas (or feel like spas). After a yoga class at Exhale Spa, I’ll get a mani-pedi. Following a workout with my trainer at Equinox, maybe a massage. Putting the two in the same place is helpful in getting them both crossed off the list.

Career Girl Network Official Logo

PrettyQuick: I am sure you are always on-the-go. What is your quick go-to beauty trick that keeps you fabulous throughout the day?

Marcy: It’s the old adage, “put on a little lipstick.” I carry a TON of lip gloss shades in my bag, and I reapply whenever I need to feel ready or powerful. If I’m killing time between meetings, I’m always in Sephora finding a new lip shade.

PrettyQuick: Once you have finally been able to get to a salon or spa, what is your favorite beauty service to get? Facial, massage, manicure…?

Marcy: My hair is naturally curly and I am far too impatient to straighten it every day. So when I have time, I absolutely 100% get a blow out!

PrettyQuick: Picture this: You have been busy planning an event for Career Girl Network and haven’t had ANY time for yourself. You realize that a few hours open up for you the day before the big night. What do you do with those sacred hours?

Marcy: Go see a movie! It’s one of the last places on earth you can’t check your cell phone. When I need two hours away and just can’t get it anywhere else, I always know I can find it in the movie theater.

PrettyQuick: Is there anything else you would like to add?

Marcy: I am such a HUGE fan of PrettyQuick. I am constantly annoyed at my inability to find a good blow out or manicure for a last minute event, and now, no problem.

 

 

