Solo Salon’s Featured Stylist Shaun Lewis

Solo Salon is the hottest salon in the West Loop and we could not be more excited to sit down with one of their hip and talented stylists, Shaun Lewis. Check out what Shaun had to say about beauty products, trends and style in this candid interview.

What brought you to Chicago?

I have had a love for the city of Chicago ever since I was young. I grew up spending weekends at the museums, at the beach, shopping, and exploring its many neighborhoods and cultures. Chicago is one big melting pot whether you are shopping in the gold coast or going to see the next up and coming hipster band, you will find your niche in this city.

What are your three “can’t live without” beauty products?

  1. Bumble and Bumble Dryspun
  2. Bumble and Bumble Hairdresser Invisible Oil
  3. Bumble and Bumble Thickening Full Form Mousse

What celebrity looks / style do you love?

I can’t help but love Blake Lively, Sarah Jessica Parker, and Emma Stone

Why did you want to become a hair stylist / colorist?

I’ll never forget the moment I realized I wanted to be in the hair industry.

Early on in high school I had helped a friend with her hair and the moment her eyes found her reflection in the mirror she jumped out of her seat in excitement! I knew that I wanted to possess the skills that would allow me to spread that happiness every day to people.

How do you stay up to date on the latest hair techniques and trends?

Hair is something that we subconsciously define people by. We see how people choose to color it , cut it, style it.  Most importantly we see how it reflects their personality… All I see is hair.  I don’t just turn my mind off when I walk out of the salon doors. I spend my free time researching, watching videos and exposing myself to fashion shows and photo shoots. In order to evolve and grow with trends, you have to know what’s happening before its read about in People Magazine.

What cut/color/style are your clients asking for most right now?

Blunt bobs and color that looks outgrown but still done (balayage).

What hair care advice do you give most often?

Protect your investment. Use products that contain heat protectant.  Use shampoo and conditioner that is going to compliment your texture and fulfill your needs. Most importantly, I want my guests to know how to style their hair. I don’t want you to leave every 6 weeks with a salon style.  I want you to be able to achieve that on your own.  I’ve had many clients book time with me just for tutorials (which I encourage) to help tweak their day to day routine and habits.

What hair cut/style looks good on everyone?

This is a difficult question because everyone has a different face shape and skin tones… If I had to choose one look for everyone it would be a long bob. Bobs will always be in style they are timeless and have a chic effortlessness to them.

