Shannon O’Brien: Makeup Artist, Beauty Blogger & Beauty Entrepreneur

We’ve had a major girl crush on Shannon O’Brien ever since we meet her at  Glossed & Found’s ‘The Ones to Watch’ feature. We couldn’t be more excited to sit down with one of the most sought after make-up artist in the city to learn her tricks to staying fabulous and sane through all the beauty madness.

What do you love most about your job?

Everyday is different in my line of work so it’s always exciting! The best part is not only making people feel beautiful, but getting them excited about makeup and teaching them a thing or two. When my clients look in the mirror and say, “I love it! Now show me everything you used” I know I’ve gotten them excited about their beauty routine again. Makeup is fun and you should have fun with it! Come to think of it, there are a lot of things I love about my job! I am very lucky.

What neighborhood do you live in?  

I have lived all over the near west side and recently settled in Humboldt Park. I love it here! I live next to the most incredible park. I sometimes forget I am in a big city because there’s so much wildlife around! I am also just minutes away from my fave spots like Big Star, Milk & Honey, and all the great little shops in Wicker Park like Edith Hart and Eskell.

What is your favorite local hair salon?  

AJ Schulz at Thomas West is amazing. I will follow her wherever she goes. I am not afraid to experiment with my hair, which had left it in a bad state. She was able to not only save my hair, but get me on the path to the kind of hair I never knew I always wanted. You have to get in her chair! Oh and she’s ADORABLE.

Do you have any tricks to make sure you look and feel great at work?

I almost always wear heels when I work. I think I just feel a bit more confident and carry myself differently when I’m in heels. The higher the heel the better.

I am also a bit of a freak about always having travel size deodorant, mouthwash, and hand sanitizer on me. My peak work days can be up to 18 hours long and I work at a very closely to my clients. Freshness is a priority – I’m sure my clients appreciate it! Haha!

How do you stay fit/healthy?  

I ride my bike almost everywhere. It’s the best way to get around this city! I also try my best to eat a balanced diet, but I never deny myself anything. This city is full of so many great restaurants, it would be a pity to not indulge! However, Chicago style dogs are my weakness. I can’t say no!

What are your three “can’t live without” beauty products?

Only 3? M.A.C. Eyelash Curler, Benefit “They’re Real” Mascara and M.A.C. Brunette Eyebrow Pencil.

Can’t live without lashes and brows!

Which were your favorite beauty trends from the SS13 runway shows?

I love Spring/Summer beauty because it brings us back to basics:  Gorgeous skin paired with one pop feature.

Prabal Gurung just killed me with neon powder pink  and lavender lips with winged liner – An electric twist on a classic look.

I also love the apricot glow models were sporting at Anna Sui, Rebecca Minkoff, and Lulu Frost.  It’s almost as though they are basking in the most subtle peach light!

Tell us something you learned about beauty from your mom?  

My mom is and has always been a babe. She is always put together, her makeup is on point, and she smells amazing. She taught me what a “signature scent” was. As soon as I was able to afford it, I was on the hunt for my signature scent. (It was a Body Fantasies body spray. I was 12.)

I have since found my own slightly more grown up “signature scent” and developed an obsession with perfume as a result.

