AJ Schulz: Meet One of Chicago’s Top Stylist

AJ Schulz is not only Shannon O’Brien’s favorite hairstylist in the city, she is also a bridal biz owner, a major beauty blogger and Goldplaited’s Director of Style. It’s no secret we love Shannon and all things Goldplaited so we just had to sit down with AJ to find out more about all the fabulous things she does and how she does them all so fabulously!

What neighborhood do you live in?  

Lincoln Park! I adore the blend of young professionals, families and students. Walking through the neighborhood to Trader Joe’s or Core Power Yoga with a coffee and my iTunes, I can’t help but have a smile on my face. I’m obsessed with Burwood Tap, Barrelhouse Flat, D.O.C. Wine Bar and Pasta Bowl! The closest shopping to my front door is Club Monaco. Thank goodness.

What do you love most about your job?

Which one, I have five! Ultimately, I’m a daymaker! It’s the most rewarding job on earth. I get to make people feel like the best, most special version of themselves. As a blogger, hairdresser at Thomas West Salon, bridal biz owner of Your Stylist AJ, boutique buyer for Bonnie & Clyde, and Director of Style for Goldplaited, I’m a busy girl. THAT’S what I love most… being insanely busy juggling everything I love. It doesn’t feel like work, and I’m not naive to how fortunate I am for that.

Do you have any tricks to make sure you look and feel great at work?

H2O & ZZZ! Water and rest are the perfect combo for prepared success. From there, there’s nothing like lashes and a lip color to make you look and feel alert.

When in doubt, a smile. Even if I’m having an awful day, I smile long enough I trick myself into finding happiness again. 🙂

How do you stay fit/healthy?  

I’m dating a professional athlete who is the most motivating man I’ve ever met. He’s so driven and motivated by health and fitness that it’s contagious. I live a mostly paleo diet, have a personal trainer, do yoga, and love walking around the city.

What are your three “can’t live without” beauty products?

1. DRY SHAMPOO. Who has time to blowout their hair every day?! I’m obsessed with “GK Dry Shampoo”.

2. Almay liquid liner. I’ve been using it since middle school!

3. Extensions. I swear by the extensions I have myself, and offer in the salon. My clients agree 😉

Any other favorite beauty products you want to tell us about? Brands you love?

Revlon is every drugstore’s most underrated line!

Tell us something you learned about beauty from your mom?  

My mom has taught me to never be lazy with beauty. She always looks pulled together, polished and trendy. She even gets a little extra dressy when traveling by air, it’s little things like this that make all the difference and project pride.

If I have a daughter I hope to teach her how to age gracefully. So many women groan about wrinkles and change, but we should only be so lucky to get the chance to grow old. I plan to do it with grace, and lead by example.

