Consultant Emily Reilly is PrettyFab

Emily Reilly shares with PrettyQuick her favorite hair salon, beauty products and travel tricks. 

What is your favorite local hair salon?  

I’ll be honest, I haven’t tried too many hair salons. You’d never guess based on my hair style (long, one-length, wavy/straight hair), but I am super picky.

As such, I found a similarly thin-haired blonde through the business school network,and she recommended Asha in the Gold Coast. I went, had two good experiences, and have remained loyal. I can trust that I’ll leave there with a non-fussy haircut – it’s amazing how hard it is to find a place that has stylists who can cut long, thin hair so that it is no fuss.  

Do you have any tricks to make sure you look and feel great at work?

What do I need to feel great at work and travelling? Long hair, a rubber band and mascara. The first two obviously complement each other – I can easily pull back my hair and not think about it. . Mascara not only makes my eyes look bigger (or so that is what the cosmetic companies tell me) but it makes my eyes feel awake and ready to start the day. It also serves as a purpose later in the day – mascara reminds me to keep my hands from rubbing my eyes when I become tired throughout the day or the journey (no mascara on a long haul flight though!).

For a date, I turn to red lipstick. I can count on the fact that I’m usually racing from a meeting or presentation to dinner with my fiance, and throwing some red lipstick on will put me in the requisite wine and dine mode.

What are your three “can’t live without” beauty products?

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer (it replaces foundation for me)

Blistex

Bobbi Brown Moisturizer with SPF

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I really like the core of who I am, but in my life journey, I’m always working on tweaking my perspective. Currently, I’m recalibrating where my ambition needs to sit on my better-than/good-enough continuum. I’ve found that in my constant search to be ‘better than,’ I often opt out of activities that can significantly contribute to my life, and the result is that I’m playing a zero-sum game against myself a lot of the time. It’s learning to know when to set big goals, and drive towards those goals with all my might and when to set a goal that will simply get me across the finish line. A good example is going for a run after work – I can set the goal to improve my 5k time and really push it, but on a day when I’m really tired, I might opt out because that is daunting. I’m learning to tell myself it’s okay to run 2 miles at a slower pace – the result is that I ran whereas I wouldn’t have run otherwise. There are, of course, larger life issues to which I’m applying this framework, as well.

